#3 A good book and a nice cup of tea | The Woman Who went to Bed for a Year

Sue Townsend’s final book is a testament to her literary life – recommeded for fans of Jodi Picoult and JoJo Moyes.

Sue Townsend sadly passed away last year and this is my review of her final novel The Woman Who went to Bed for a Year.

I will start as, I wish I could start every endeavour, with a Harry Potter quote.

‘It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live’ are words spoken by Dumbledore and seem universally true. However the inverse is also pretty accurate too, life sometimes isn’t all it’s cracked up to be especially when you ditch your dreams, and Townsend translates this aphorism through Eva. Eva her whole life has been ordinary; a house wife with a beautiful chair covered in soup because her family didn’t value her art. A beautiful woman underappreciated by her frankly bland husband. A mother who had not a damn clue who her children really are.

It’s easy, whether you’re middle-aged Eva or you reading this, to forget that you have dreams when you’re so swept up in doing the laundry and making dinner and doing your taxes and going to work and buying cat food. Townsend’s story is how an ordinary woman enchants a nation by going to bed and obstinately staying there for a year. It will make you laugh until you cry and cry until you laugh.

Eva has won a place as one of my literary heroes simply because she tells the world, you know what? **** you, I’m going to bed. As someone who is terrible at saying no she’s an  inspiration for giving yourself the time you deserve to just take stock of life.

The Woman Who Went to Bed for a Year? 4.5 stars and a hobnob (my new fave complement to a brew).

IMG_8077

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s